YET ANOTHER NEW PROTOCOL

Sometimes I just want to crawl into a hole and not come out!! That being said……

Last update I indicated I was going to start Neupogen shots. This new step has proven to keep my white blood cell counts up. My body seemed to be adjusting to the new regiment, so I thought. As we approached my 5th round of chemo I was becoming more anxious, as my doctor had informed me he was going to order a CT scan to see how my cancer is responding to the treatment. On July 16th I went in for my usual blood draw to check my counts, which is something I do the day before my chemo. Normally I don’t get a call unless my counts are too low to receive chemo. Within a few hours I received that call letting me know my platelets were too low. The nurse also informed me I needed to be very careful with bleeding because I am unable to clot normally. Hearing this caused me to be alarmed as I had been on my menstrual cycle too long. When she heard this I needed to go to the ER immediately! Upon my arrival to the ER my blood counts were redone with the result of the platelets dropping lower. I was talking to the doctor about how I was feeling which made me realize I had ignored this pain over the last week which concerned me and the ER doctor. I told him I was only taking pain medicine when I went to bed and the lack of energy, stamina and shortness of breath had returned during this second treatment plan. He decided he wanted to consult with his team to see what the next step would be. The result was I needed a transfusion of red blood cells which would help with the symptom’s I was experiencing. They admitted me into the hospital on the 16th for 2 days. On the 2nd day the internist and I discussed being discharged but were concerned about the pain I was still having.

Because of the pain they didn’t want to wait for the CT scan and scheduled it that day! Preliminary results showed fluid around my liver that explains the pain I have been having. Now, I will wait for the doctors to consult and look over my scans. The waiting is the worst part. I was released to go home on July 18th, which is the best part! Over the weekend my pain increased so I called my doctor to see if I could get an appointment sooner than the 23rd! They were able to fit me in on the 22nd, yay!!

I went to this appointment with my kids and not my husband as he had to work. I needed a driver to get me there and Aaron is a driver now. Thank goodness! I was apprehensive about having my kids there with me as I didn’t know what I was going to hear. The results from the official report indicated the cancer on the liver was not stabilized and had grown in size a little bit. There are 2 new microscopic nodules on both of my lower lobes of my lungs. I do know that this means I have to move to another type of treatment. As we continue to try other treatments my percentage for remission keeps getting lower and lower my worry is starting to kick in. On the same note, I am staying optimistic about this treatment because it is going to make a lot of my pain go away and make the fluid in my belly subside. I also don’t have to deal with some of the harsher side effects that the other chemo had caused.

My new treatment started on July 24th. My new treatment consists of every Wednesday for three weeks and one week off. Some of my pain has subsided, which gives me hope that this could be the beginning of the right treatment.

Again, thank you to everyone who has participated in assisting in the meals for our family and all of the prayers and well wishes. I draw from your strength and enjoy reading your comments and texts.

For anyone who doesn’t have the calendar link and access code here it is!!!

To access Diane Gibson’s personal CareCalendar site,
visit http://www.carecalendar.org/logon/152720 and enter
the following information in the appropriate spaces:
CALENDAR ID : 152720
SECURITY CODE : 4055

Continuing to fight!
Love Diane

3 thoughts on “YET ANOTHER NEW PROTOCOL

  1. Diane, as I read this in the middle if the night, I am renewing my commitment to prayer. I am heading to East Coast Tuesday (7/30), but when I get back, i will see what you need. I have been meaning to connect in a more practical way also. I’m not a good cook, but I could clean or drive, or donate blood (I have O Neg). This song has been especially meaningful to me lately. I hope it encourages you too.

    By Bebo Norman
    “I Will Lift Up My Eyes”

  2. Diane, I was just checking a few of your posts and had a quick question about your blog. I was hoping you could email me back when you get the chance -emilywalsh688 (at) gmail.com- Thanks : )

    Emmy

Leave a Reply

